R80 g/s conversion?

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started bycrankshaft,Aug 15, 2004.

1. crankshaft

crankshaftGuns are for pussies

加入:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Oddometer:
    Hello....I am a newbie,

Ok first newbie question,and please give me as many sarcastic remarks as possible. I've been shopping around for an early 80's R80 g/s,and I'm suffering from sticker shock. I'm wondering if it would be worth while to convert a 1985
    R80 street cruiser into a trail hammering G/S. I can get the R80 for $2000
    (one owner since 85...dealer service...etc etc etc) and the going rate for the
    stock 81-83 is more like $5000! "F" that "S". Is it worth while oh gods of the "G"?

Aaron
  2. Lucky Luke

Lucky Lukebad venture

加入:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Oddometer:
    Well if the geometry and construction of the frame is the same, I'd go for it!
  3. motozilla

motozillaLong timer

加入:
    2002年9月10日,
    Oddometer:
    5741年
    Shame on you Luke for trying to bait this poor man into a project like that.:lol3Aaron, Pony up the extra 2-3K and get what you want. You will without a doubt spend more money and take years off your life doing a conversion. Ask me...I know!www.advmoto.com/gsmods :thumb
  4. FN in MT

FN in MTBeen here awhile

加入:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Oddometer:
    I agree with the previous poster. All sorts of mint 80GS's out there. Just saw one in Boise,ID for $6500 that was about as sweet,complete and mint as a guy could want. Check out the Internet BMW Riders for sale page, all sorts of old airheads out there.

FN in MT
  5. Stephen

StephenLong timerSupporter

加入:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Oddometer:
    The street model comparable to the G/S is the R80ST. Lower, smaller front wheel, better front forks, chrome exhaust, bigger headlight, real instruments, chrome handlebars...otherwise identical. Usually much cheaper and lower mileage, also even rarer than the G/S. A nice bike, arguably better than the G/S for all but the gnarliest terrain.